Stammering the promises

This blog started as “Stammered Life”, taken from a Buechner phrase that “His holy story is stammering itself out in our lives”.  It seemed to fit, given all the fits of weakness in my life, and my interest in weakness itself as a “God-attractor” in the gospel story.  But I wasn’t easy with the emphasis on His story being revealed firstly in me, rather than the Word.  There’s truth in Buechner’s statement, but it’s not the truth this blog wants most to emphasize.

Truly, my heart’s greatest fascination is in the unfolding of redemption and the stunning work of our Great Rescuer.  This blog isn’t about me keeping my promises — to my shame, I haven’t done that — it’s about all the promises kept and fulfilled in Him.  Jesus Christ is worthy of all our delight and adoration and hope.

So we’ll concentrate on Him, and on the gospel.

I’ll still stammer. This blog will stammer. Irregular posts. Some ideas not always fully formed. Weakness in abundance. And it’s all cool, because that’s a mirror of my life, and because the Great Hobby is tracing out in Scripture and in experience how God shows his power in weakness and uses infants to defeat his enemies (Psalm 8).

If you’ve got the gospel all figured out, you won’t enjoy it here. But if every day you’re amazed at mercy, astounded at your own sin, humbled by grace, stupefied by the gospel, and blown away by Jesus… you’ve come to the right place.

Why not pull up a chair and stammer out your own story for a bit?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

